Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Late Spring 2018 Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (HMH) General Interest

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
The Dark Angel
By (author): Elly Griffiths
9780544750326 Hardcover, Cloth over boards English FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths May 15, 2018 Print Run: 25000
$39.00 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.25 x 1.15 in | 450 gr 352 pages Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
In this highly atmospheric mystery, Ruth Galloway—“a captivating amateur sleuth” (Louise Penny)—and DCI Nelson investigate a murder in a medieval Italian town where dark secrets are buried as deep as bones.

It’s not every day that you’re summoned to the Italian countryside on business, so when archaeologist Angelo Morelli asks for Ruth Galloway’s help identifying bones found in the tiny hilltop town of Fontana Liri, she jumps at the chance to go, bringing her daughter along with her for a working vacation. Upon arriving, she begins to hear murmurs of Fontana Liri’s strong resistance movement during World War II and senses the townspeople are dancing around a deeply buried secret. But how could that be connected to the ancient remains she’s been studying?

Ruth is just beginning to get her footing in the dig when she’s thrown off-guard by the appearance of DCI Nelson. And when Ruth’s findings lead them to a modern-day murder, their holidays are both turned upside down, and they race to find out what darkness is lurking in this seemingly picturesque town.

ELLY GRIFFITHS is the author of the Ruth Galloway and Magic Men mystery series. She is the recipient of the Mary Higgins Clark Award and the CWA Dagger in the Library Award.

PRAISE FOR THE DARK ANGEL

"Griffiths deftly balances the plotlines at home and abroad to deliver another hugely satisfying and entertaining Galloway mystery full of atmosphere and loose ends...this tenth addition to the series (afterThe Chalk Pit) is one of the best! The story lines are confidently interwoven, the Italian scenery is vividly drawn, and Ruth and Nelson’s relationship becomes yet more complicated, leaving readers eager for the next installment."
—Library Journal

“Rich details about the Italian countryside, gastronomy, and history.”
Publishers Weekly

"There is a charming old-home-week feel to this Italian adventure. The humor is well placed, as are the insightful forays into Italy’s history and people, but the gripping ending leaves no doubt that this is, above all, a mystery...A sure bet for fans of strong-minded women and wry humor in the tradition of Rhys Bowen and M.C. Beaton"
— Booklist, STARRED review

PRAISE FOR ELLY GRIFFITHS AND THE RUTH GALLOWAY SERIES

Winner of the Mary Higgins Clark Award
Winner of the CWA Dagger in the Library Award

"Galloway is an everywoman, smart, successful and a little bit unsure of herself. Readers will look forward to learning more about her." —USA Today

"Elly Griffiths draws us all the way back to prehistoric times…Highly atmospheric." —The New York Times Book Review

"Forensic archeologist and academic Ruth Galloway is a captivating amateur sleuth-an inspired creation. I identified with her insecurities and struggles, and cheered her on. " —Louise Penny, author of the bestselling Armand Gamache series

"These books are must-reads." —Deborah Crombie, author of the Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James series

"[Ruth Galloway's] an uncommon, down-to-earth heroine whose acute insight, wry humor, and depth of feeling make her a thoroughly engaging companion." —Erin Hart, Agatha and Anthony Award nominated author ofHaunted Ground andLake of Sorrows

"Ruth Galloway is a remarkable, delightful character…A must-read for fans of crime and mystery fiction." —Associated Press

"Rich in atmosphere and history and blessed by [Griffith's] continuing development of brilliant, feisty, independent Ruth...A Room Full of Bones, like its predecessors, works its magic on the reader's imagination." —Richmond Times-Dispatch

"Lovers of well-written and intelligent traditional mysteries will welcome [Griffith's] fourth book…A Room Full of Bones is a clever blend of history and mystery with more than enough forensic details to attract the more attentive reader." —Denver Post

of 54

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.