Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Raincoast Fall 2018 for Catalist - Mar 14th

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Be Everything at Once
Tales of a Cartoonist Lady Person
By (author): Dami Lee
9781452167657 Paperback, Trade English General Trade HUMOR / Form / Comic Strips & Cartoons Aug 07, 2018 Print Run: 7500
$21.95 CAD
Active 7.13 x 8 x 0.63 in | 380 gr 160 pages paperback with flaps, matte lamination, spot UV gloss varnish, embossing Chronicle Books
"Illustrator Dami Lee has figured out how to craft a cartoon that's both whimsically humorous but also speaks to contemporary awareness of globalism and identity."The Art Attackpodcast

Why do things in moderation when you can just doeverything? Cartoonist Dami Lee's hilarious four-panel comic collection illustrates her experience navigating identity, relationships, pop culture, and misunderstandings about basic human interactions.

From growing up as a South Korean immigrant kid in the foreign land of Texas to finding her home as a professional cartoonist in cyberspace, Lee laughs at it all. With favorite selections from Dami's massively popular webcomicAs Per Usual, as well as many never-before-seen comics,Be Everything at Once is earnestly relatable and endlessly funny, full of (mostly) true stories for anyone who obsesses over their favorite snacks, struggles to take the best selfie, tears up at the sight of a perfect dog, or is maybe just trying to find their place.

• Humor for anyone who has ever felt out-of-place and overworked
• A mix of relatable moments and personal stories
• Comic strip format book of stories from a modern young woman

Fans ofSuperchill: A Year of Living Anxiously,Emotions Explained with Buff Dudes,Adulthood is a Myth, andHyperbole and a Half will love this book.

This book is perfect for:
• Comic fans
• 20-somethings
• Fans of Sarah Andersen and Allie Brosh
• Dami Lee's social media followers
• Fans of pop culture

Dami Lee is a Seoul-born, New York–based artist. She currently writes about the internet for The Verge and has drawn comics for The New Yorker, Buzzfeed, Cosmopolitan, and premium mustard brands.

" hilarious and relatable..."
-Books & Boba

A2019 YALSA Great Graphic Novels for Teens pick

"Spontaneity in human form. That's how I'd describe Dami Lee, going by her new book Be Everything At Once: Tales of a Cartoonist Lady Person. She depicts herself in both comics and writing as an eccentric, impulsive, memey, smiley, anxious, awkward woman with the occasional quarter-life crisis- and she does so in a very genuine, exposed way."
-Comics Beat

"Illustrator Dami Lee has figured out how to craft a cartoon that's both whimsically humorous but also speaks to contemporary awareness of globalism and identity."
- The Art Attack podcast

"If it isn't already obvious why you should buy and read Be Everything At Once, here are a few more reasons...the book is so, so funny. Plus, you learn a bit about what it's like to acclimate to United States-ian culture, especially as a child. And, most importantly, you learn to stop taking yourself too seriously. Reading this book gives you a great kick in the pants to just take it easy on yourself. Just be you. Embrace it. Embrace you...Buy it, read it, and then re-read it. Then share it. You'll find something (or many things) in it which make you feel good about your own life experience. And you'll end up laughing at yourself and along with the comic."
-GeekDad

"Earnestly relatable and enduringly funny, anyone who obsesses over snacks, struggles to balance their passion with their day job, or feels like they are trying to find their place in life, will find this book unnervingly relatable."
-Happiful Magazine

"Be Everything at Once roasts pop culture, upends modern lifestyles, and gets real with the social insight. Dami Lee has a unique eye for the oddities around us, and she lays them out in a playful, often weird, and always hilarious voice."
Reza,Poorly Drawn Lines

of 1016

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.