Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

HMH Young Readers Fall 2018

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Raincoast Book Distribution Limited Supplies to:CA Availability: Available Excluding:Jun 17, 2020 On Sale Date:Feb 19, 2019 Carton Quantity:24 $24.99 CAD
  • Catalogues

The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
By (author): Ronald L. Smith
9781328841605 Hardcover, Cloth over boards English Age (years) from 10 - 12 JUVENILE FICTION / Horror Feb 19, 2019 Print Run: 30000
$24.99 CAD
Active 5.87 x 8.38 x 0.86 in | 330 gr 224 pages Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Clarion Books
In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award winner Ronald L. Smith, twelve-year-old Simon thinks he was abducted by aliens. But is it real, or just his over-active imagination? Perfect for fans of Mary Downing Hahn and Louis Sachar.

Twelve-year-old Simon is obsessed with aliens. The ones who take people and do experiments. When he's too worried about them to sleep, he listens to the owls hoot outside. Owls that have the same eyes as aliens—dark and foreboding.

Then something strange happens on a camping trip, and Simon begins to suspect he’s been abducted. But is it real, or just the overactive imagination of a kid who loves fantasy and role-playing games and is the target of bullies and his father’s scorn?

Even readers who don’t believe in UFOs will relate to the universal kid feeling of not being taken seriously by adults that deepens this deliciously scary tale.

Ronald L. Smith is the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award–winning author of Hoodoo, The Mesmerist, andBlack Panther: The Young Prince. He lives in Baltimore, Maryland.
strangeblackflowers.com
Twitter: @RonSmithbooks

“I hugged this book last night because I love Simon so much.” —Erin Entrada Kelly, Newbery Award-winning author of Hello, Universe

"
Smith (Hoodoo, 2015) continues to be one of the most distinct and impressive voices in middle-grade speculative fiction right now."--Booklist

"
An eerie and layered tale with a main character to which young readers will relate."--School Library Journal

"
CSK/Steptoe Award–winning author Smith (Hoodoo, rev. 9/15) crafts a tightly plotted novel full of suspense and compassion with a climax that will chill readers straight to the bone."--The Horn Book Magazine

"
A middle-grade X-Files primer."--Kirkus

"
The touching efficacy of this novel is in its showing rather than telling of a boy with the weight of multiple worlds—whether through the media or family or his own mind—placed squarely on his small shoulders."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

of 129

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.