Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

HMH Young Readers Fall 2018

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Once a King
By (author): Erin Summerill
9781328949974 Hardcover, Cloth over boards English Age (years) from 12 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Epic Dec 04, 2018 Print Run: 45000
$25.99 CAD
Active 5.66 x 8.57 x 1.57 in | 560 gr 464 pages Houghton Mifflin Harcourt HMH Books for Young Readers
A young king searches for a way to save his kingdom in this romantic fantasy from Erin Summerill, who was called “absolutely marvelous” byNew York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas.

Aodren:A lonely, young king, searching for a way to dismantle his father’s dark legacy.
Lirra: A girl with the power to control the wind, torn between duty and following her dreams

For twenty years, Channelers—women with a magical ability—have been persecuted in Malam by those without magic. Now King Aodren wants to end the bloody divide and unite his kingdom. But decades of hatred can’t be overcome by issuing decrees, and rumors of a deadly Channeler-made substance are only fueling people’s fears. Lirra has every reason to distrust Aodren. Yet when he asks for help to discover the truth behind the rumors, she can’t say no. With Lirra by his side, Aodren sees a way forward for his people. But can he rewrite the mistakes of the past before his enemies destroy the world he’s working so hard to rebuild? Erin Summerill returns with a high-stakes fantasy full of romance, magic, and revenge perfect for fans of Susan Dennard and C. J. Redwine.

Erin Summerill was born in England. After spending years bouncing between air force bases in Hawaii, England, and California, her family finally settled down in Utah. When Erin doesn’t have her nose in a book, she’s busy chasing after her four kids, two dogs, and a cat. Visit her online at www.erinsummerill.com and on Twitter: @erinsummerill.

- Kirkus review
- School Library Journal review
- Booklist review
- a spin-off to Ever the Hunted and Ever the Brave
- nearly 2k copies of Ever the Hunted sold in both formats in Canada

“Prepare your heart for the swooniest king in all the lands! With poignant prose and intricate world building, ONCE A KING casts its spell from the very first pages. Fly—don't walk—to sweep up this soaring tale.” –Pintip Dunn,New York Timesbest-selling author and RITA award winner

"Brain candy for fans of Summerill's worldbuilding."--Kirkus

"
Lirra is a fierce heroine...A lighter fantasy thanGraceling, but for a similar audience."--Booklist

"
Timely...A satisfying mixture of political machination, mystery, magic, and romance, especially for fans of previous volumes."--School Library Journal

"
Clever banter, cloak-and-dagger derring-do, and tentative, sweet romance...Series fans and new readers will find much to love."--Publishers Weekly

of 129

Also Available

Ever the Hunted Erin Summerill 9780544664456 $25.99 CAD Dec 27, 2016

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.