Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

HMH Young Readers Fall 2018

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street
By (author): Karina Yan Glaser
9781328499219 Paperback, Trade English Age (years) from 8 - 12 JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Siblings Sep 04, 2018 Print Run: 25000
$11.99 CAD
Active 5.13 x 7.63 x 0.8 in | 240 gr 320 pages black-and-white illustrations Houghton Mifflin Harcourt HMH Books for Young Readers
FromNew York Times best-selling author Karina Yan Glaser comes one of Times' Notable Children's Books of 2017: “In this delightful and heartwarming throwback to the big-family novels of yesteryear, a large biracial family might lose their beloved brownstone home, but win it back with an all-out charm offensive.”

The Vanderbeekers have always lived in the brownstone on 141st Street. It's practically another member of the family. So when their reclusive, curmudgeonly landlord decides not to renew their lease, the five siblings have eleven days to do whatever it takes to stay in their beloved home and convince the dreaded Beiderman just how wonderful they are. And all is fair in love and war when it comes to keeping their home.

Karina Glaser lives in Harlem, New York City, with her husband, two daughters, and assortment of rescued animals. One of her proudest achievements is raising two kids who can't go anywhere without a book. This is her debut novel. www.karinaglaser.com

â?? "Glaser’s love for the Vanderbeekers shines through in her prose and stick drawings. Readers will look forward to future adventures. A highly recommended purchase for all middle grade collections." —School Library Journal, starred review

â?? "Few [families] in children’s literature are as engaging or amusing as the Vanderbeekers." —Booklist, starred review

"...[Karina Yan Glaser’s] contemporary family narrative preserves the winsome tone and innocence of the aforementioned classics while updating them with a rich, modern diversity of characters, settings and problems....Glaser’s warmhearted story highlights a cold truth: What is often missing in the busy lives of today’s plugged-in, checked-out families is a sense of community. In the vast village of New York City, she suggests, what it takes to raise a child can still be found on one square block." —The New York Times Book Review

"A heartwarming story about family and community that will appeal to readers who also enjoy an old-fashioned feel."—Kirkus

"
With rich dialogue and detailed descriptions of the neighborhood, the text provides a humorous and heartwarming story about siblings uniting to save their home. Through the Vanderbeekers, Glaser provides a portrait of the splendors of Harlem and the sense of community that can be built among neighbors of all backgrounds. . .This will draw fans of rollicking family stories, and while it’s centered on Christmas, it would be enjoyable any time of the year." —Bulletin

". .
. Uplifting. . . Readers who enjoy a cheery story that’s simultaneously old-fashioned and of the moment in its sensibility will enjoy this introduction to the Vanderbeekers and look forward to their future adventures." —Publishers Weekly

"
Glaser’s third-person narration weaves individual characters’ plot threads and a palpable sense of place through the larger family story in the tradition of Jeanne Birdsall, Sydney Taylor, Elizabeth Enright, and Hilary McKay." —Horn Book

“The Vanderbeekers join the Melendys, the Cassons, and the ‘All of a Kind’ Family on my list of favorite book-families. I’m in love with every single Vanderbeeker! Their story is utterly enchanting: I did not want it to end. More, please?”
—Linda Sue Park, Newbery medalist

of 129

Also Available

The Vanderbeekers to the Rescue Karina Yan Glaser 9781328577573 $23.99 CAD Sep 17, 2019
The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden Karina Yan Glaser 9781328770028 $24.99 CAD Sep 25, 2018

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.