Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Lahring's Dewey Diva Picks for Kids Winter/Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
How to Give Your Cat a Bath
in Five Easy Steps
By (author): Nicola Winstanley Illustrated by: John Martz
9780735263543 Hardcover English Juvenile: Age (years) from 3 - 7, Grade (US) from P - 2 JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play Jan 22, 2019
$21.99 CAD
Active 7.75 x 9.25 x 0.4 in 40 pages FULL COLOR THROUGHOUT Tundra Books
 
Governor General's Literary Awards - Children's Literature - Illustration 2019, Short-listed
In this hilarious and clever “how-to,” a little girl and a know-it-all narrator are thwarted by a cat who refuses to take a bath. The perfect read-aloud for fans of Snappsy the Alligator and Interrupting Chicken.

Step one: fill the bath

Step two: put the cat in the bath

Step three: put shampoo on the cat

Step four: rinse the cat

Step five: dry the cat

Seems simple, right? One problem: the cat has no intention of doing ANY of these things! Watch as the steps keep changing, the cat keeps escaping, the girl keeps eating cookies and the mess keeps escalating. Soon it’s not just the cat who needs a bath—it’s the whole house!

This spoof on an instruction manual features an increasingly bewildered human, a nonchalant cat and a know-it-all narrator…who really doesn’t know it all. How DO you give a cat a bath? Read on to find out!

FUN, META PICTURE BOOK: Smart, funny, self-aware—and readers are in on the joke. It fits perfectly with popular titles like Snappsy the Alligator; I Didn’t Do My Homework Because; Chester; and A Perfectly Messed-Up Story.

EASY-TO-READ TEXT: Perfect for beginning readers and a great storytime read-aloud.

ADORABLE ILLUSTRATIONS: Readers will love the mischievous cat and beleaguered girl, while the spare and contemporary illustrations beautifully show the increasing mess (and fun) of the narrative.

ILLUSTRATOR ON THE RISE: John Martz is an award-winning up-and-coming illustrator with strong connections to the comics scene. He is also the Art Director for Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers!

EZRA JACK KEATS AWARD-WINNING WRITER: We’re committed to building Nicola as an author, as we love her writing and her beautiful books, including The Pirate’s Bed and A Bedtime Yarn.

NICOLA WINSTANLEY has always believed in the power of stories to bring comfort. She is the author of The Pirate’s Bed, A Bedtime Yarn and Cinnamon Baby, which won an honor prize for the Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Award and was shortlisted for the Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award. Nicola lives in Hamilton, Ontario, with her family and one dog. No cats.

Author Residence: Hamilton, Ontario

Author Hometown: New Zealand

JOHN MARTZ is an illustrator, cartoonist and designer. He is the author and illustrator of Burt's Way Home, A Cat Named Tim and Other Stories and Destination X, and the illustrator of Flyary and Who's On First. His work can also been seen in The Nib. John is the art director for Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers, and he lives in Toronto with his wife and one dog. No cats.

Illustrator Residence: Toronto, Ontario

Illustrator Hometown: Kitchener, Ontario

Marketing: -Include in #TundraCats cat campaign

-pitch illustrator features for John

-Local events for Nicola

-OLA party guests

-poster

-Author/illustrator influencer mailing

Author Website: johnmartz.com

Author Social Media: twitter: @nicwinstanley twitter: @johnmartz instagram: @johnmartz

PRAISE FOR Cinnamon Baby by Nicola Winstanley:

“…turns the power of a mother’s love into about as delicious a story as you could want when the subject is unhappy babies.”—The New York Times

“A charming offering infused with warmth, romantic whimsy, and love.”—Booklist

“Perfection might be the word to describe this confection, a delectable tale in which whimsical collage, watercolour and graphite pencil illustrations dance across the pages of text, in step with and amplifying the latter in all the best ways.”

The Globe & Mail

“Children able to appreciate the quaint plot and drawings will enjoy this cozy story.”—School Library Journal

PRAISE FOR Who’s on First, illustrated by John Martz:

“Martz’s expressive characters cavort on backgrounds that pop with appealing color. Clever page formatting conveys the pacing that is such an integral part of the laughs.”—School Library Journal

“Confusion reigns as the banter between coach and catcher gets sillier and sillier with each new question and answer. The supercute cartoon illustrations, arranged in both panels and strips against solid backgrounds, only intensify the zaniness.”—Booklist

“Martz’s clever graphics make the premise clear to the youngest readers…. Parents can now introduce the routine earlier than has been traditional for young fans and, as we all know, participating in tradition is the essence of the love of baseball.”—Newsday

of 25

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.