Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Lahring's Dewey Diva Picks for Adults Winter/Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780735276789 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $21 CAD 9780735276772 Electronic book text, EPUB 9781984840660 Downloadable audio file
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date: Jan 29, 2019 Carton Quantity: 24 $24.95 CAD
  • Catalogues

The Plotters
A Novel
By (author): Un-su Kim
9780735276765 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / Crime Jan 29, 2019
$24.95 CAD
Active 6.06 x 9.16 x 0.93 in 304 pages Knopf Random Vintage Canada Random House Canada
A fantastical crime novel set in an alternate Seoul where assassination guilds compete for market dominance, for fans of Han Kang, Patrick DeWitt and Kill Bill.

Reseng is an assassin, and behind every assassination, there is an anonymous mastermind—a plotter—working in the shadows. Raised by a philosophical and cantankerous killer named Old Raccoon in his crime headquarters, The Library, Reseng has always been surrounded by plots—and by books that no one ever reads. But, when Reseng steps out of line on a job, he risks his future. And when he uncovers an extraordinary plot being cooked up by an eccentric trio of young women—a convenience store clerk, her wheelchair-bound sister, and a cross-eyed obsessive knitter—he will have to decide whether he will be used as a pawn, or if he can take control of the game.

Un-su Kim has written that rarest of novels, a cracking commercial crime novel that sings with the soul, wit, and lyricism of real literary craft. The Plotters is page-turning, hilarious, soul-searching, and deeply entertaining. It is a wake-up call to genre lovers and literary readers alike.

Story Locale: South Korea, and especially Seoul

“THE KOREAN HENNING MANKELL”*: Kim has already won South Korea’s most prestigious literary prize, the Munhakdongne Novel Prize. *The Guardian

SAVVY, SLICK, SMART: There is no shortage of bloodshed and thrills of the genre, but The Plotters is, more impressively, a showcase for classic storytelling and an original voice.

MOVIE COMPS! Along with the Tarantino, a little Looper, a little John Wick, a little Ocean’s 11.

ORIGINAL TRADE PAPERBACK IN A STELLAR TRANSLATION: The prose is full of idiosyncratic humour and life.

K-THRILLERS ARE HERE: The Plotters has already sold in 22 territories and counting, including: the United States, Australia, UK, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Japan, Russia, Sweden, Poland, and Latin America.

UN-SU KIM was born in 1972 in Busan, which is a port city about five hours south of Seoul. The author of several highly praised novels, he has won the Munhakdongne Novel Prize, Korea’s most prestigious literary prize, and was nominated for the 2016 Grand Prix de la Litteraire Policiere, a French prize for the best international crime novel. The translator, SORA KIM-RUSSELL, is a Korean-American living in Seoul where she teaches translation.

Author Residence: Seoul, South Korea

Author Hometown: Busan, South Korea

Marketing: Promo item

Special finished copy influencer mailing

Facebook advertising

Instagram advertising

Goodreads advertising

Publicity: Limited review coverage in outlets like The Globe and Mail and the Toronto Star

Contact the Korean Consul General and see if they would like to work with us

Contact the Korean student unions at U of T, York, Ryerson

Pitch to the Korean media

Pitch the “boat” story to The Globe and Mail

Praise for The Plotters:

“Now this is a story with power and style. The one-two punches of humor are a nice bonus…. You’ll be laughing out loud every five minutes…. You’ll find yourself contemplating the meaning of life, death, and desire for a long, long time.”—Yu-jeong Jeong, author of the bestselling thriller The Good Son

“With sharp humour and sparkling prose, Un-su Kim stylishly spins the tale of the extraordinary life of an ordinary assassin.”—Jung-myung Lee [J.M. Lee], author of The Investigation

of 25

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.