Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Lahring's Dewey Diva Picks for Adults Winter/Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780735276789 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $21 CAD 9781984840660 Downloadable audio file, $27 CAD 9780735276772 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date:Jan 29, 2019 Carton Quantity:24
  • Catalogues

The Plotters
A Novel
By (author): Un-su Kim
9780735276765 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / Crime Jan 29, 2019
$24.95 CAD
Active 6.06 x 9.16 x 0.93 in 304 pages Knopf Random Vintage Canada Random House Canada
 
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2020, Long-listed
A fantastical crime novel set in an alternate Seoul where assassination guilds compete for market dominance, for fans of Han Kang, Patrick DeWitt and Kill Bill.

Reseng is an assassin, and behind every assassination, there is an anonymous mastermind—a plotter—working in the shadows. Raised by a philosophical and cantankerous killer named Old Raccoon in his crime headquarters, The Library, Reseng has always been surrounded by plots—and by books that no one ever reads. But, when Reseng steps out of line on a job, he risks his future. And when he uncovers an extraordinary plot being cooked up by an eccentric trio of young women—a convenience store clerk, her wheelchair-bound sister, and a cross-eyed obsessive knitter—he will have to decide whether he will be used as a pawn, or if he can take control of the game.

Un-su Kim has written that rarest of novels, a cracking commercial crime novel that sings with the soul, wit, and lyricism of real literary craft. The Plotters is page-turning, hilarious, soul-searching, and deeply entertaining. It is a wake-up call to genre lovers and literary readers alike.

Story Locale: South Korea, and especially Seoul

UN-SU KIM was born in 1972 in Busan, which is a port city about five hours south of Seoul. The author of several highly praised novels, he has won the Munhakdongne Novel Prize, Korea’s most prestigious literary prize, and was nominated for the 2016 Grand Prix de la Litteraire Policiere, a French prize for the best international crime novel. The translator, SORA KIM-RUSSELL, is a Korean-American living in Seoul where she teaches translation.

Author Residence: Seoul, South Korea

Author Hometown: Busan, South Korea

Marketing: Promo item

Special finished copy influencer mailing

Facebook advertising

Instagram advertising

Goodreads advertising

Publicity: Limited review coverage in outlets like The Globe and Mail and the Toronto Star

Contact the Korean Consul General and see if they would like to work with us

Contact the Korean student unions at U of T, York, Ryerson

Pitch to the Korean media

Pitch the “boat” story to The Globe and Mail

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 INTERNATIONAL DUBLIN LITERARY AWARD

A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE
A MACLEAN'S RECOMMENDED READ FOR 2019
ONE OF CRIMEREADS' MOST ANTICIPATED FOR 2019
ONE OF CHICAGO REVIEW OF BOOKS' BEST WINTER THRILLERS

The Plotters is a combination of satire, modern politics and culture clash, all mixed into a wonderfully readable story about an assassin who begins to question his profession, with unusual twists and dives in the plot. . . . In short, this is the kind of alternate-history novel that keeps us reading long into the night. This is only the first of several books by Un-Su Kim, one of Korea’s best authors, and we can hope for more treats to come. The translation, by Sora Kim Russell is terrific, flowing easily, with a loose slangy touch that perfectly sets off the tight story.” —Margaret Cannon, The Globe and Mail

“[N]ihilistically funny page-turner, The Plotters, set in an alternate Seoul where competing assassination guilds dispatch operatives to solve customers’ little problems, will rightly push Korean noir into the limelight.” —Brian Bethune, Maclean’s

“[A] gripping portrait of a killer for hire. . . . It will also keep readers delightfully off-balance. . . . Kim has mixed bookishness, crackpots and commissioned murder into a rich and unsettling blend.” —The Washington Post

“Kim is a good writer, soulful and observant.” —The New York Times Book Review

The Plotters is a good thriller for its willingness to investigate outside of the at-hand, adrenaline-begetting drama and the novel takes refreshing breaths.” —The Michigan Daily

“The winner of prestigious prizes in Korea, Kim makes his anglophone debut, thanks to Kim-Russell, who captures his dark, dark wit and searing sarcasm in an irresistible sociopolitical parable designed to delight and dismay.” —Booklist (starred review)

“Korean author Kim makes his US debut with a powerful, surreal political thriller . . . The complex plot, in which Reseng becomes involved with a more polished, CEO-like hit man named Hanja, builds to a highly cinematic and violent denouement. Most memorable, though, is the novel’s message about the insidiousness of unaccountable institutions, from those under the military junta to those that thrive in today’s economy. The consequence of the pervasive corruption is an air of existential despair. This strange, ambitious book will appeal equally to literary fiction readers.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

The Plotters entertains with its perfect blend of fast action, quirky characters, and dark humour. . . . Kim’s brilliantly constructed underworld delivers riveting insight into the complex web of assassins and plotters. This, coupled with Sora Kim-Russell’s seamless translation, makes The Plotters the next great international read.” —Ann Y.K. Choi, author of Kay’s Lucky Coin Variety

“The Plotters is no primer for a visit to Korea. What it does offer is a vivid portrait of a mesmerizing central character—the stoic Reseng. It will also keep readers delightfully off-balance. In The Plotters Kim has mixed bookishness, crackpots and commissioned murder into a rich and unsettling blend.” —The Washington Post

“Now this is a story with power and style. The one-two punches of humor are a nice bonus . . . You’ll be laughing out loud every five minutes . . . you’ll find yourself contemplating the meaning of life, death, and desire for a long, long time. Make sure you leave your evening free, because you won’t be able to put this book down once you start.” —You-jeong Jeong, author of the bestselling thriller The Good Son

The Plotters subverts every trope of the assassin-for-hire novel. Constantly surprising and darkly funny; surreal, intimate and emotional. I loved it.” —Charles Soule, author of The Oracle Year

The Plotters by Un-su Kim is a work of literary genius; a quirky, compelling, intelligent, darkly funny, highly original and thought-provoking thriller like nothing I’ve read. Gorgeous prose elevates the basest of characters and answers the question: How can ours be a life well-lived if we only do as we’re told? I loved this book!” —Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King’s Daughter

The Plotters tells the story of Renseng, a jaded assassin who startles himself by realizing—somewhat belatedly—that he has a moral code, a sense of honor, a soul. All of these will prove to be perilous liabilities in his world. Un-su Kim is a tremendous writer, and he’s crafted a smart, stylish, and surprisingly moving thriller.” —Scott Smith, author of A Simple Plan and The Ruins

The Plotters is what would happen if you took the best South Korean crime cinema and distilled it into words. A smart but lightning fast thriller that keeps the pressure on to the very last page.” —Brian Evenson, author of Last Days and A Collapse of Horses

“Imagine a mash-up of Tarantino and Camus set in contemporary Seoul, and you have The Plotters. Filled with unexpected humor and exquisite fight scenes.” —Louisa Luna, author of Two Girls Down

of 25

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.