has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Annick Press Fall 2019

more
The Ghost Collector
By (author): Allison Mills
Allison Mills

Imprint:

Annick Press

ISBN:

9781773212951

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

Juvenile: Age (years) 10, Grade (CAN) 5, Grade (US) 5, Reading age 10
Sep 10, 2019
$11.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

7.5in x 5.4 x 0.9 in | 160 gr

Page Count:

200 pages
Annick Press
JUVENILE FICTION / Ghost Stories
 
Best Books List, CBC Books 2019, Joint winner Chocolate Lily Book Award 2020, Short-listed Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award 2020, Short-listed Manitoba Young Readers' Choice Award 2020, Long-listed Red Cedar Book Award 2020, Short-listed Rocky Mountain Book Award 2021, Short-listed Silver Birch Fiction Award, OLA 2021, Nominated Sunburst Award 2020, Joint winner Willow Award 2021, Short-listed

Ghosts aren’t meant to stick around forever…

Shelly and her grandmother catch ghosts. In their hair.

Just like all the women in their family, they can see souls who haven’t transitioned yet; it’s their job to help the ghosts along their journey. When Shelly’s mom dies suddenly, Shelly’s relationship to ghosts—and death—changes. Instead of helping spirits move on, Shelly starts hoarding them. But no matter how many ghost cats, dogs, or people she hides in her room, Shelly can’t ignore the one ghost that’s missing. Why hasn’t her mom’s ghost come home yet?

Rooted in a Cree worldview and inspired by stories about the author’s great-grandmother’s life, The Ghost Collector delves into questions of grief and loss, and introduces an exciting new voice in tween fiction that will appeal to fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Louisiana’s Way Home and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls.

  • Written by a debut author this middle grade story is rooted in Indigenous identity and worldviews (Cree)
  • Explores universal themes of grief and loss, family and friendship
  • A lovely, gentle take on traditional ghost stories, told with deep emotion and empathy

Allison Mills (Ililiw/Cree and settler) is a writer, archivist, and librarian who loves all things ghost-related. The Ghost Collector is her first novel. She lives in Vancouver. Follow Allison on Twitter at @sometimesal.

“[An] original paranormal tale.”

- Kirkus Reviews, 06/12/19

“Mills has created a gentle, understated story about grief and loss through a paranormal lens. This is a necessary book that is sure to have readers. Highly recommended.”

- School Library Journal, *starred review, 08/19

“Poignantly haunting.”

- The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, 09/19

“Perfectly balances suspense and the supernatural . . . [A] powerful and moving story about coming to terms with the death of a loved one. It’s an auspicious debut that is sure to delight middle-grade readers.”

- The Globe and Mail, 08/25/19

“Mills explores the confusion and anger loss can bring, as well as the difficulties of being different in middle school. It’s a quiet, contemplative read.”

- Booklist, 09/10/19

“Mills’s spare prose is poignant and never heavy-handed, culturally specific yet universally resonant.”

- The Horn Book Magazine, 11/19

“Offers readers a gentle and interesting lesson on ghost lore — as well as a refreshing challenge to assumptions about traditional knowledge.”

- Toronto Star, 11/06/19

“A moving, compassionate story.”

- Falling Letters, 01/08/2020

“Young readers will delight in the inventiveness of The Ghost Collector.”

- Canadian Children’s Book News, 01/24/20

“Simple language makes The Ghost Collector accessible to its tween audience while introducing sophisticated concepts. In Shelly, Mills has created a believable, likeable character who learns important life lessons about the future in the rich context of her cultural past.”

- CM Reviews, 09/20/19

“Allison Mills’ The Ghost Collector is both delightful and haunting. A delicious blend of the supernatural and the very real. Mills has great respect for her audience. Taking great care to keep the narrative moving while never simplifying the novel’s ideas and themes of loss. The result is a nuanced study in empathy for both the characters and the readers.”

- Sunburst Award Jury, 08/20

“An enjoyable, moving read, excellent for independent reading or literature circles in junior grades.”

- Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario (ETFO), 03/22

“Excellent read, great characters and a neat story.”

- Village Media (syndicated), 08/16/20

of 18

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.