Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Anansi Fall 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781487007256 Electronic book text, EPUB, $18.95 CAD 9781487007263 Electronic book text, Kindle, $18.95 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with non-exclusive rights in: CA US
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: UTP Distribution Supplies to:CA Availability: Available Excluding:Sep 06, 2019 Carton Quantity:33 $22.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Publishers Group West Supplies to:US Availability: Available Excluding:Mar 06, 2020 Carton Quantity:33 $17.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Surrender
The Call of the American West
By (author): Joanna Pocock
9781487007249 Paperback, Trade English General Trade SOCIAL SCIENCE / Anthropology / Cultural & Social Sep 24, 2019
$22.95 CAD
Active 5 x 8 x 1 in | 400 gr 384 pages black-and-white photos throughout House of Anansi Press Inc House of Anansi Press

In the style of Barry Lopez, Annie Dillard, and Eula Biss, Surrender explores the changing landscape of the American West and the radical environmental movements that have taken root in response to the increasingly urgent climate crisis.

Blending personal memoir with insightful reportage and vivid nature writing, award-winning author and essayist Joanna Pocock investigates the changing landscape of the West and the radical environmental movements that have taken root in the Mountain States. She witnesses the annual tribal bison hunt near Yellowstone National Park, where she meets a scavenger community honing ancestral skills. She joins Finisia Medrano, a transgender rewilder who for many years has been living on the “hoop,” following her food source by seasonal migration. She attends the Ecosex Convergence — an annual gathering of people who place their relationship with the earth above everything else — and attends a workshop led by Reverend Teri Ciacchi, a sexologist, priestess of Aphrodite, and holistic spiritual healer in the Living Love Revolution Church.

Surrender is a keen and compelling examination of the outsider eco-cultures blossoming in the new American West in an era of increasing climatic disruption, rising sea levels, animal extinctions, melting glaciers, and catastrophic wildfires.

JOANNA POCOCK is an Irish-Canadian writer living in London, U.K. Her essays, reviews, and travel pieces have appeared in Distinctly Montana, Litro, the Sunday Independent, the Los Angeles Times, the Nation, Orion, Tahoma Literary Review, and 3:AM, and on the Dark Mountain blog. She was a finalist for the 2017 Barry Lopez Narrative Nonfiction Award and the 2021 Arts Foundation Futures Award for Environmental Writing, and she won the 2018 Fitzcarraldo Editions Essay Prize for Surrender. She teaches creative writing at the University of the Arts in London and works as a freelance editor for a variety of publishers.

PRAISE FOR JOANNA POCOCK AND SURRENDER

Winner, Fitzcarraldo Editions Essay Prize

Finalist, Barry Lopez Creative Nonfiction Prize

Finalist, Arts Foundation Futures Award for Environmental Writing

A Quill & Quire Book of the Year

“A bewitching and deeply affecting book. Pocock’s elegant interweaving of the intimate and the expansive, the personal and the universal, culminates in a work that forces us to consider our own place in, and impact upon, a world that could itself have more past than future.” — Spectator (U.K)

“Joanna Pocock’s compelling debut, a tapestry of personal narrative and vibrant reporting, explores the fresh, unconventional, and often hopeful relationships with nature that are clashing with the tintype images of the American West. So much more than a memoir, Surrender is an important enquiry into the ground upon which we find and establish a home.” — Harley Rustad, author of Big Lonely Doug

Surrender is an astonishing book about the fragility of nature, grief, the American West, the consolations of travel, and the exquisite agonies of mortal life. Pocock travels widely in time and space, through memories, visions, the deaths of her parents, and the birth of her child. Beautiful, wise, and deeply moving, this is ambulatory philosophy at its finest — for readers of Rebecca Solnit, Lauren Elkin, Garnette Cadogan, and Iain Sinclair.” — Joanna Kavenna, author of A Field Guide to Reality

“Land and water, flesh and blood. The planet and the body. Society and the person. Surrender maps these profound fractal relationships with a precision and sensitivity that stunned me. Here is a singular spiritual travelogue of the American West that is worthy of D. H. Lawrence.” — Walter Kirn, author of Up in the Air and Blood Will Out

“Written with great narrative richness and an anthropologist’s intrepid gaze, Surrender is fascinating, urgent, and profoundly compelling. It is an important addition to nature’s library.” — Chloe Aridjis, author of Sea Monsters


“[A] poignant, insightful examination of the American West.” — Winnipeg Free Press

of 22

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.