has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2019 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 17, 2019 On Sale Date: Oct 08, 2019 Carton Quantity: 28 $32.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 17, 2019 On Sale Date: Oct 08, 2019 Carton Quantity: 28 $24.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Lost Feast
Culinary Extinction and the Future of Food
By (author): Lenore Newman

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770414358

Product Form:

Hardcover

Form detail:

Dust jacket
Hardcover , Dust jacket
English

Audience:

General/trade
Oct 08, 2019
$32.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.5 x 0.94 in | 1.1 lb

Page Count:

312 pages

Illustrations:

line drawingsUnspecified, see description
ECW Press
NATURE / Environmental Conservation & Protection
Cultural studies: food and society|Conservation of the environment|Cookery / food and drink
 
Foreword INDIES 2019, Winner Science Writers & Communicators of Canada Book Award 2019, Short-listed Taste Canada Awards 2020, Runner-up Council on Botanical and Horticultural Libraries Literature Award 2020, Nominated
  • Short Description
For readers of Michael Pollan and Anthony Bourdain comes an entertaining yet scholarly book about the foods we have loved to death. From passenger pigeons to megafauna, Newman identifies certain foods vulnerable to human appetite and which foods we’ll struggle to protect in the future.

“Edifying and entertaining.” — Foreword Reviews, starred review

Taste Canada Silver Award Winner and finalist for the Science Writers and Communicators of Canada Award

A rollicking exploration of the history and future of our favorite foods

When we humans love foods, we love them a lot. In fact, we have often eaten them into extinction, whether it is the megafauna of the Paleolithic world or the passenger pigeon of the last century. In Lost Feast, food expert Lenore Newman sets out to look at the history of the foods we have loved to death and what that means for the culinary paths we choose for the future. Whether it’s chasing down the luscious butter of local Icelandic cattle or looking at the impacts of modern industrialized agriculture on the range of food varieties we can put in our shopping carts, Newman’s bright, intelligent gaze finds insight and humor at every turn.

Bracketing the chapters that look at the history of our relationship to specific foods, Lenore enlists her ecologist friend and fellow cook, Dan, in a series of “extinction dinners” designed to recreate meals of the past or to illustrate how we might be eating in the future. Part culinary romp, part environmental wake-up call, Lost Feast makes a critical contribution to our understanding of food security today. You will never look at what’s on your plate in quite the same way again.

Short Description


For readers of Michael Pollan and Anthony Bourdain comes an entertaining yet scholarly book about the foods we have loved to death. From passenger pigeons to megafauna, Newman identifies certain foods vulnerable to human appetite and which foods we’ll struggle to protect in the future.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • An entertaining book with scholarly chops — but not a scholarly tone — about the foods we have loved to death.

  • Lost Feast includes chapters covering passenger pigeons, megafauna, the dodo, lab-made meat, the loss of 464 varieties of lettuce, and the history of beekeeping.

  • Newman’s debut Speaking in Cod Tongues, received a starred review and praise from Publishers Weekly: “She takes what could have been a bewildering wealth of information and presents it in a straightforward, clear manner with an appealing, conversational tone.”


Audience



  • For foodies, natural history buffs, environmentalists.

  • Readers of Michael Pollen.

  • Fans of Anthony Bourdain’s engaging and edgy way of writing about food and travel.

Lenore Newman is the Canada Research Chair in Food Security and Environment at the University of the Fraser Valley. She is the author of the acclaimed Speaking in Cod Tongues: A Canadian Culinary Journey. She divides her time between Vancouver and Roberts Creek, British Columbia.

“Newman’s jaunts through the animal kingdom alternate with themed meals with her friend Dan as she ponders how historical extinctions are linked to our current food systems, what we can do about it, and how humans must follow the example of the famed New York ‘pizza rat,’ and adapt to the food that comes their way.” — Booklist

“Edifying and entertaining … Never didactic and cautiously optimistic, Newman recognizes that there is hard work ahead to recalibrate the North American diet. She builds a compelling case for us human superpredators to rethink our food choices, and to be healthier for the environment and our fellow inhabitant species. Lost Feast is enjoyable reading about a serious topic.” — Foreword Reviews, starred review

“Free-wheeling look at the flora and fauna we’ve eaten into oblivion.” — Toronto Star

“An interesting and thought-provoking adventure alongside an engaging, wry-humored narrator, the book forces the reader to consider humans’ role in historic plant and animal extinctions, as well as how we might approach food more reasonably moving forward.” — Civil Eats

“If you’ve ever wondered about the impact the human appetite has had on plans and animals, Lost Feast: Culinary Extinction and the Future of Food by Lenore Newman (2019, ECW Press, $24.95) is for you.” — WVNews

of 22

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.