has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Ampersand Fall 2019 Adult Dewey Diva Picks

more
Between Heaven and Hell
The Story of My Stroke
By (author): David Talbot
David Talbot

Imprint:

Chronicle Prism

ISBN:

9781452183336

Product Form:

Hardcover
Hardcover
English
Jan 14, 2020
$32.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.63in x 5.75 x 0.75 in | 310 gr

Page Count:

176 pages
Chronicle Books
Chronicle Prism
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
Acclaimed writer, bestselling author, and founder of Salon magazine, David Talbot has brought us masterful and explosive headline-breaking stories for over 25 years with books like the New York Times bestsellers Brothers, The Devil's Chessboard, and nationally recognized Season of the Witch. Now for the first time, journalist and historian David Talbot turns inward in this intimate journey through the life-changing year following his stroke, a year that turned his life upside down, and ultimately, saved him.

• A portrait of how a health crisis can truly shift one's perspective on life and purpose
• Includes insider stories on the wild early days of Internet journalism, tech culture, and Hollywood
• Powerful storytelling of the physical, emotional, and psychological impact a stroke has had on the author's identity

Fans of My Stroke of Insight, The Devil's Chessboard and Season of the Witch will love this book.

This book is perfect for:
• Fans of David Talbot
• Anyone dealing with or recovering from health issues (particularly stroke or brain injury) and looking for insight and inspiration
• Gen Xers and baby boomers who understand their risk for stroke
• Entrepreneurs scared of burnout

David Talbot is the esteemed author of four popular history books, and the founder and original editor in chief of one of the first entirely digital publications, Salon magazine. A former senior editor of Mother Jones magazine, Talbot is a journalist and columnist who has written for the New Yorker, Time, Rolling Stone, The Guardian, the San Francisco Chronicle and other publications. His book Season of the Witch was a San Francisco Chronicle bestseller for four years and was the 2015 San Francisco One City One Book pick.

"A gripping narrative. Between Heaven and Hell is a very honest and personal tale of Talbot's struggles and healing-both physical and emotional-in the year following his stroke." -Alta magazine

"A gripping narrative. Between Heaven and Hell is a very honest and personal tale of Talbot's struggles and healing-both physical and emotional-in the year following his stroke." -Alta magazine

"Touching, informative, sometimes funny, sometimes harrowing, I couldn't put it down." —Anne Lamott, New York Times bestselling author

"Touching, informative, sometimes funny, sometimes harrowing, I couldn't put it down." —Anne Lamott, New York Times bestselling author

"A deeply affecting examination of mortality, ambition and the priorities of a man who dodged death to live better days." —Dave Eggers, bestselling author of The Circle, Zeitoun, and A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius

"A deeply affecting examination of mortality, ambition and the priorities of a man who dodged death to live better days." —Dave Eggers, bestselling author of The Circle, Zeitoun, and A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius

"What makes this book so special is the complete absence of resentment and self-pity. This is a story beyond catharsis—it's a rebirth, a celebration, a hallucinatory and joyous examination of the aftermath of illness with love and gratitude infused on every page." —Susannah Cahalan, author of Brain on Fire and The Great Pretender

"What makes this book so special is the complete absence of resentment and self-pity. This is a story beyond catharsis—it's a rebirth, a celebration, a hallucinatory and joyous examination of the aftermath of illness with love and gratitude infused on every page." —Susannah Cahalan, author of Brain on Fire and The Great Pretender

"Talbot demonstrates the conviction of someone who has been there and back and now knows what is really at stake.. Inspiration for others facing similar challenges." —Kirkus Reviews

"Talbot demonstrates the conviction of someone who has been there and back and now knows what is really at stake.. Inspiration for others facing similar challenges." —Kirkus Reviews

"A lighthearted look at myriad effects that a serious medical trauma can have on a person's life.. Given the fatal and often mentally debilitating nature of strokes, it makes sense that such memoirs are so few; Talbot's accomplishment is rare and that much more impressive." -San Francisco Examiner

"A lighthearted look at myriad effects that a serious medical trauma can have on a person's life.. Given the fatal and often mentally debilitating nature of strokes, it makes sense that such memoirs are so few; Talbot's accomplishment is rare and that much more impressive." -San Francisco Examiner

"Between Heaven and Hell should be an indispensable help for all those who survive strokes and those who care for survivors in the aftermath." -Writers Readers

"Between Heaven and Hell should be an indispensable help for all those who survive strokes and those who care for survivors in the aftermath." -Writers Readers

of 37

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.