Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Leads Winter 2020

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Animal Kind
(True Stories Gift for Cat Lovers, Dog Owners, and Animal Fans)
By (author): Emma Lock
9781642501629 Paperback, Trade English SOCIAL SCIENCE / People with Disabilities Mar 17, 2020
$27.95 CAD
Active 5.89 x 7.06 x 0.5 in | 140 gr 224 pages b/w photos throughout Mango Mango Media
The Beauty of Animal CompanionshipFor hundreds of years, humans and animals have had special bonds with each other. We've lived side-by-side through thick and thin - these relationships are not just about raising pets and farm animals. Our animal companions offer inspiration, friendship, health, and real-life opportunities for recovery that we can't achieve alone.
True stories of animal therapy: In Animal Kind, Emma Lock of YouTube fame shares stories of the incredible ways that animals keep us healthy and happy, physically and mentally. You'll be inspired by the tales of remarkable recovery, from vision-impaired individuals who have gained independence with the help of seeing-eye dogs, to the woman who found new life as an equestrian champion after an arm amputation.
Friendship in surprising places: The stories in Animal Kind feature an array of relationships that may surprise you. Even wild animals like snakes and racoons have been known to offer life-changing companionship. With each story, you'll learn fun facts about the featured species and hear from the people who love them. You'll also hear the never-before-told story of how animals changed Emma's life for good.
In Animal Kind , the YouTube star Emma Lock shares true stories of animal friendship that show us:
* The healing power of connection with other species * The truths that animal lovers know about life * How pets and wild animals alike can make us better people Animal Kind: Lessons on Love, Fear, and Friendship from Wild Animals offers true stories that prove that sometimes the best friends in life have fur, feathers, or even scales. Readers who enjoyed Devoted, How to Be a Good Creature, and A Street Cat Named Bob will love the heartwarming food for the soul in this book.

Currently based in New Jersey, Emma "Em" Lock, was born in the UK to her Spanish mother and Chinese father. Em's formative years were spent on the fascinating island of Hong Kong, and it was here that she nurtured her passion for exotic wildlife, catching and bringing home snakes, turtles and various insects. At the tender age of 10 years old, she managed a pet shop after school, and spent weekends in the local veterinary office, learning about different medical procedures. Having a strong affinity for the dogs whose operations she observed, she was given a job at the Hong Kong (R)SPCA, where she trained surrendered and feral dogs in preparation for re-homing. She specialized in training difficult, fearful and aggressive dogs. She found her true calling when she began working as an animal educator, taking animals into schools, universities, museums and even prisons to give educational presentations, thus combining her passion for animals with her training as a performer. An avid lover of travel and wildlife exploration, Em has filmed her adventures in countries such as China, Thailand, the Arctic and Africa. After creating a digital series based on her daily work, Em found and nurtured a community of animal lovers who resonate with her positive vibe and willingness to share her experiences and knowledge. Alongside her YouTube channel, Em continues to give live animal presentations and has a dream to open the world's first ever animal arts center.

of 130

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.