has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

LPG -Spring 2020 Group Catalogue

more
Uncle
Race, Nostalgia, and the Politics of Loyalty
By (author): Cheryl Thompson
Cheryl Thompson

Imprint:

Coach House Books

ISBN:

9781552454107

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

UK Trade
Paperback , UK Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
Feb 16, 2021
$22.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.5 x 0.63 in | 0.83 lb

Page Count:

272 pages
Coach House Books
SOCIAL SCIENCE / Ethnic Studies / American / African American & Black Studies

From martyr to insult, how “Uncle Tom” has influenced two centuries of racial politics.

Jackie Robinson, President Barack Obama, Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas, O.J. Simpson and Christopher Darden have all been accused of being an Uncle Tom during their careers. How, why, and with what consequences for our society did Uncle Tom morph first into a servile old man and then to a racial epithet hurled at African American men deemed, by other Black people, to have betrayed their race?

Uncle Tom, the eponymous figure in Harriet Beecher Stowe’s sentimental anti-slavery novel, Uncle Tom’s Cabin, was a loyal Christian who died a martyr’s death. But soon after the best-selling novel appeared, theatre troupes across North America and Europe transformed Stowe’s story into minstrel shows featuring white men in blackface. In Uncle, Cheryl Thompson traces Tom’s journey from literary character to racial trope. She explores how Uncle Tom came to be and exposes the relentless reworking of Uncle Tom into a nostalgic, racial metaphor with the power to shape how we see Black men, a distortion visible in everything from Uncle Ben and Rastus The Cream of Wheat chef to Shirley Temple and Bill “Bojangles” Robinson to Bill Cosby.

In Donald Trump’s post-truth America, where nostalgia is used as a political tool to rewrite history, Uncle makes the case for why understanding the production of racial stereotypes matters more than ever before.

  • For fans of Kevin Young’s Bunk, Claudia Rankine, and Morgan Jerkins.
  • Uncle Tom’s Cabin is a classic American novel, often credited with helping to end slavery. Yet “Uncle Tom” is now sometimes used to refer to a Black person who is too obsequious or subservient to white people. The insult has been levelled at people like Jackie Robinson and Barack Obama.
  • Black visual artists from Jean-Michel Basquiat to Kerry James Marshall to Kara Walker have exploring the history of racial stereotypes in their work for decades.
  • The Uncle Tom insult has been wielded everywhere from politics to sports to popular culture.
  • Race relations will be at a fevered pitch a few months before the election, and Uncle offers a trenchant history of one of the most common tropes in that conversation.
  • Cheryl Thompson is an extremely popular speaker, weaving together astute political and literary criticism and compelling pop culture references.

Cheryl Thompson is an Assistant Professor at Ryerson University in the School of Creative Industries. She is author of Beauty in a Box: Detangling the Roots of Canada's Black Beauty Culture . She previously held a Banting postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Toronto. Her work has appeared in The Conversation, Toronto Star, Montreal Gazette, Spacing, Herizons Magazine, Halifax Coast, and Rabble.ca . She was born and raised in Toronto, where she currently resides. She has also lived in the United States.

of 256

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.