has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Spring 2021 Trade

more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Jan 19, 2021 On Sale Date: Feb 09, 2021 Carton Quantity: 44 $23.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Jan 19, 2021 On Sale Date: Feb 09, 2021 Carton Quantity: 44 $18.95 USD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Turnaround Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Jan 19, 2021 On Sale Date: Feb 09, 2021 Carton Quantity: 44
  • Catalogues

Happily Ever Older
Revolutionary Approaches to Long-Term Care
By (author): Moira Welsh
Moira Welsh

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770415218

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
Feb 09, 2021
$23.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.5 x 0.62 in | 0.77 lb

Page Count:

272 pages
ECW Press
SOCIAL SCIENCE / Gerontology
Age groups: the elderly|Care of the elderly|Coping with ageing|Relating to late adulthood / old age
Europe
  • Short Description
Happily Ever Older takes readers inside nursing and retirement homes and shows novel approaches to community living. Investigative journalist Moira Welsh provides a blueprint for change and proof for industry leaders and governments that good care for seniors is attainable and necessary.

While Being Mortal (Atul Gawande) helped us understand disease and death, and Successful Aging (Daniel J. Levitin) showed us older years can be a time of joy and resilience, Happily Ever Older reveals how the right living arrangements can create a vibrancy that defies age or ability.

Reporter Moira Welsh has spent years investigating retirement homes and long-term care facilities and wants to tell the dangerous stories. Not the accounts of falls or bedsores or overmedication, but of seniors living with purpose and energy and love. Stories that could change the status quo.

Welsh takes readers across North America and into Europe on a whirlwind tour of facilities with novel approaches to community living, including a day program in a fake town out of the 1950s, a residence where seniors school their student roommates in beer pong, and an aging-in-place community in a forest where everyone seems to have a pet or a garden or both. The COVID-19 pandemic cruelly showed us that social isolation is debilitating, and Welsh tells stories of elders living with friendship, new and old, in their later years.

Happily Ever Older is a warm, inspiring blueprint for change, proof that instead of warehousing seniors, we can create a future with strong social connections and a reason to go on living.

Short Description


Happily Ever Older takes readers inside nursing and retirement homes and shows novel approaches to community living. Investigative journalist Moira Welsh provides a blueprint for change and proof for industry leaders and governments that good care for seniors is attainable and necessary.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • With the poor conditions of longterm care facilities splashed across the headlines during the COVID-19 pandemic, more of the population is concerned about the way society warehouses seniors. Now that the cracks have been exposed, long-term care will have to change course to protect its most vulnerable, and Moira Welsh provides a roadmap for these changes.

  • Whether it is a seniors’ community inside a forest, urban co-housing, or beer-pong with younger roommates, this book explores new ideas and innovations in long-term care that can be applied to the entire system to prioritize strong social connections, emotional vitality, and ongoing growth in our later years.

  • There are many “how to” and textbooks about caring for aging parents and the senior population, but there is nothing on the market that advocates for an overall change to the traditional long-term care system in an attainable, empathetic, and intelligent way.

  • The audience for this book is people considering assistive or retirement community living for themselves or their parents.


Audience



  • GenEx and Boomers, CBC/NPR listeners

  • Those who are looking into long-term care for themselves or for their family members

  • For readers of Successful Aging by Daniel J. Levitin

  • Doctors, nurses, PSW’s and other healthcare workers

Moira Welsh is an investigative journalist with the Toronto Star, Moira has co-authored investigations that have won three National Newspaper Awards and a Michener Award for Public Service Journalism. She was a finalist for the Justicia Award for Legal Reporting and the Canadian Hillman Prize. She started as a breaking news reporter and soon joined the investigative team where she has written on social justice, the environment, and the lives of people living in seniors’ homes. Moira lives in Toronto, Ontario, with her family.

“A timely addition to the literature on aging … There is a lot of hope in this blueprint for change. Recommended for public libraries and especially medical libraries.” — Library Journal

“Every single person in this country needs to read this book. Moira Welsh has somehow managed to give hope to something that for the most part seems hopeless. I actually laughed out loud a few times because I was relieved to know that there were people working on some incredible solutions to make getting older easier and more dignified.” — Jann Arden, singer-songwriter, actor, and bestselling author of Feeding My Mother: Comfort and Laughter in the Kitchen as My Mom Lives with Memory Loss

“Moira Welsh shows us what’s possible when we think outside of the box, push beyond the status quo and let ourselves imagine. This is not a book of doom and gloom about growing older and needing support; it’s about hope and inspiration. We need to share this book far and wide as we all are growing older and we are the best advocates for ourselves and those living in care communities. It’s true — we can be happily ever older!” — Penny Cook, president and CEO of the Pioneer Network

“With a journalist’s eye and a storyteller’s heart, Moira Welsh crosses the continent and beyond, sharing tales of visionaries who are seeking to enrich the experience of aging in our world. Informative and inspiring!” — G. Allen Power, MD, FACP, geriatrician, educator, author, Schlegel Chair in Aging and Dementia Innovation

Happily Ever Older is a delight. Moira Welsh brings a steady drumbeat of humanity to so many stories woven into the global examples of attempts to create environments that focus on individualized care, relationship-based models of care, the emotional intelligence of the staff, normalization of architecture and community integration … and so much more.” — Susan Reinhard, RN, PhD, FAAN, senior vice-president at AARP, director of the AARP Public Policy Institute, and chief strategist at the Center to Champion Nursing in America

of 27

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.