has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Amplifying BIPOC and LGBQT+ Voices

more
Liminal
By (author): Jordan Tannahill
Jordan Tannahill

Imprint:

House of Anansi Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781487003784

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
Jan 23, 2018
$22.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8in x 5.25 x 0.5 in | 0.71 lb

Page Count:

304 pages
House of Anansi Press Inc
House of Anansi Press
FICTION / Literary
 
A 49th Shelf Book of the Year 2018, Commended
  • Short Description
From award-winning playwright and filmmaker Jordan Tannahill comes a masterful novel in the tradition of Sheila Heti’s How Should a Person Be.

From award-winning playwright and filmmaker Jordan Tannahill comes a masterful and moving novel in the tradition of Ben Lerner’s Leaving the Atocha Station and Sheila Heti’s How Should a Person Be.

At 11:04 a.m. on January 21st, 2017, Jordan opens the door to his mother’s bedroom. As his eyes adjust to the half-light, he finds her lying in bed, eyes closed and mouth agape. In that instant he cannot tell whether she is asleep or dead. The sight of his mother's body, caught between these two possibilities, causes Jordan to plunge headlong into the uncertain depths of consciousness itself.

From androids to cannibals to sex clubs, an unforgettable personal odyssey emerges, populated by a cast of sublime outsiders in search for the ever-elusive nature of self. Part ontological thriller, part millennial saga, Liminal is a riotous and moving portrait of a young man in volatile times, a generation caught in suspended animation, and a son’s enduring love for his mother.

JORDAN TANNAHILL is an award-winning author, playwright, filmmaker, and theatre director. He is the winner of the Governor General’s Award for Drama for Age of Minority: Three Solo Plays and was shortlisted for the prize again for Concord Floral. He has twice received Dora Awards for Outstanding New Play. His play Botticelli in the Fire won the 2017 Toronto Theatre Critics Award for Best New Play and is currently being adapted into a feature by filmmaker Stephen Dunn. From 2012 to 2016, in collaboration with William Ellis, Tannahill ran the alternative art space Videofag, which became an influential hub for queer and avant-garde work in Canada. He is the author of Theatre of the Unimpressed: In Search of Vital Drama and The Videofag Book; and his latest play, Declarations, will be published to coincide with its premiere at Canadian Stage in January 2018. Tannahill’s films and multimedia performances have been presented at festivals and galleries such as the Toronto International Film Festival, the Art Gallery of Ontario, and the Tribeca Film Festival. Most recently, his virtual reality performance Draw Me Close, a co-production between the National Theatre (U.K.) and the National Film Board of Canada, premiered in May 2017 at the Tribeca Film Festival. His play Late Company will be transferring to the West End (London, U.K.) August–September 2017. Liminal is his first novel and is being made into a feature length art film by the NFB and the National Theatre in the UK. Born in 1988 in Ottawa, Ontario, he now makes his home in London, U.K.

Liminal is generous, bold, unabashedly emotional, and really smart — an ultra-engaging portrait of the artist, and portal to the art. - Ann-Marie Macdonald, author of The Way the Crow Flies

A raw love letter to a mother, and a blazing meditation on love, death, and dying, Jordan Tannahill’s Liminal is a full-fledged unleashing from a major literary talent. - Anosh Irani, author of The Parcel

This book has everything: a road trip, coming of age, philosophy, mythology, meditation on the nature of self, and the tender love of a son for his mother — all infused with uncommon emotional intelligence. - Teva Harrison, author of In-Between Days

Tannahill is a good writer, a natural storyteller with a strong sense of narrative rhythm as well as the ability to launch into almost mystical flights of poetic vision. - Toronto Star

Authors such as Ben Lerner, Rachel Cusk, and Karl Ove Knausgaard, among others, are showing their exhaustion with plot, opting to be candid, probing, philosophical, and discursive at a micro-level on the page. Toronto playwright Jordan Tannahill’s lushly intelligent debut novel, Liminal, is an exciting addition to this school . . . Liminal captures something illuminating and undefinable about the present moment . . . A real jaw-dropping intellectual feat . . . A rich and unusual story. - Globe and Mail

of 97

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.