has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Amplifying BIPOC and LGBQT+ Voices

more
Clifford
A Memoir, A Fiction, A Fantasy, A Thought Experiment
By (author): Harold R. Johnson
Harold R. Johnson

Imprint:

House of Anansi Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781487004101

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
Aug 28, 2018
$22.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8in x 5.25 x 0.3 in | 0.66 lb

Page Count:

264 pages
House of Anansi Press Inc
House of Anansi Press
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
 
Saskatchewan Book Awards: University of Saskatchewan Non-Fiction Award 2018, Winner Saskatchewan Book Awards: Rasmussen, Rasmussen & Charowsky Indigenous Peoples’ Writing Award 2018, Short-listed
  • Short Description
A moving tribute to an older brother that traverses the thresholds of memoir, fiction, and fantasy and reimagines what could have been.

From the bestselling author of Firewater comes a moving tribute to an older brother that traverses the thresholds of memoir, fiction, and fantasy and reimagines what could have been.

When Harold Johnson returns to his childhood home in a northern Indigenous community for his brother Clifford’s funeral, the first thing his eyes fall on is a chair. It stands on three legs, the fourth broken off and missing. So begins a journey through the past, a retrieval of recollections of his silent, powerful Swedish father; his formidable Cree mother; and his brother Clifford, a precocious young boy who is drawn to the mysterious workings of the universe. As the night unfolds, memories of Clifford surface in Harold’s mind’s eye. Memory, fiction, and fantasy collide, and Clifford comes to life as the scientist he was meant to be, culminating in his discovery of the Grand Unified Theory.

Exquisitely crafted, funny, visionary, and wholly moving, Clifford is an extraordinary work that embraces myriad forms of storytelling. To read it is to be immersed in a home, a family, a community, the wider world, the entire cosmos.

HAROLD R. JOHNSON is the author of five works of fiction and five works of nonfiction, including Firewater: How Alcohol Is Killing My People (and Yours), which was a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award for Nonfiction. Born and raised in northern Saskatchewan to a Swedish father and a Cree mother, Johnson served in the Canadian Navy and has been a miner, logger, mechanic, trapper, fisherman, tree planter, and heavy-equipment operator. He is a graduate of Harvard Law School and managed a private practice for several years before becoming a Crown prosecutor. Johnson is a member of the Montreal Lake Cree Nation. He is now retired from the practice of law and writes full time.

Clifford is a luminous, genre-bending memoir. Heartache and hardship are no match for the disarming whimsy, the layered storytelling shot through with love. The power of land, the pull of family, the turbulence of poverty are threads woven together with explorations of reality, tackling truth with a trickster slant. - Eden Robinson, author of Son of a Trickster

Clifford is a story only Harold Johnson could tell. By turns soft and harsh, intellectual and emotional, Johnson weaves truth, fiction, science, and science fiction into a tapestry that is rich with meaning and maybes. A natural storyteller, Johnson seeks imagined pasts and futurity with equal parts longing and care. This work allows readers and writers the possibility of new and ancient modes of storytelling. - Tracey Lindberg, author of Birdie

Harold R. Johnson is a wonderful writer, and Clifford is his best work yet. For fans of Jack Finney and Richard Matheson, this terrific book is a wonderfully human tale of memory both bitter and sweet, as well as a poignant exploration of time’s hold over all of us. - Robert J. Sawyer, Hugo Award–winning author of Quantum Night

Clifford is unlike anything I’ve read — it is at once a story of science and magic, love and loss, and a case for the infinite potential of humanity. It is a book of profound wisdom — an unpacking of the deepest truths of science in an effort to transform the pain of grief and regret into healing and forgiveness. - Patti Laboucane-Benson, author of The Outside Circle

The story’s meditations on loss, family, and fateful actions prove absorbing from the opening page. - Toronto Star

A brilliant mix of realism and fantasy. - London Free Press

of 97

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.