has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Amplifying BIPOC and LGBQT+ Voices

more
The Trap
By (author): Melanie Raabe Translated by: Imogen Taylor
Melanie Raabe ,

Translated by :

Imogen Taylor

Imprint:

Spiderline - Toronto

ISBN:

9781487000776

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
May 28, 2016
$19.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8in x 5.25 x 0.63 in | 0.83 lb

Page Count:

312 pages
House of Anansi Press Inc
Spiderline
FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
  • Short Description
The Trap follows the reclusive novelist Linda Conrads who sets out to trap the man she believes murdered her sister using her latest novel.

In this twisted debut thriller, a reclusive author sets the perfect trap for her sister’s murderer — but is he really the killer?

For eleven years, the bestselling author Linda Conrads has mystified fans by never setting foot outside her home. Haunted by the unsolved murder of her younger sister — who she discovered in a pool of blood — and the face of the man she saw fleeing the scene, Linda’s hermit existence helps her cope with debilitating anxiety.

But the sanctity of her oasis is shattered when she sees her sister’s murderer on television. Hobbled by years of isolation, Linda resolves to use the plot of her next novel to lay an irresistible trap for the man. As the plan is set in motion and the past comes rushing back, Linda’s memories — and her very sanity — are called into question. Is this man a heartless killer or merely a helpless victim?

MELANIE RAABE is the internationally bestselling author of The Trap and The Stranger Upstairs. The Shadow, her third novel, spent eighteen weeks on the Der Spiegel bestseller list when it was published in 2018. She lives in Cologne, Germany.

IMOGEN TAYLOR is a freelance literary translator based in Berlin. She is the translator of both The Trap and The Stranger Upstairs, as well as Truth and Other Lies by Sascha Arango and Fear by Dirk Kurbjuweit.

A page-turner with a plot that surprises . . . the storm that The Trap generates is as big as its charm. - Die Welt (Germany)

A smart and enthralling psychological thriller . . . splendidly entertaining. - WDR (Germany)

A fascinating psychological thriller. - Bild (Germany)

An extraordinary suspense novel. - Für Sie (Germany)

The Trap by Melanie Raabe enthralls with its unexpected twists and turns. - Stern (Germany)

A real literary phenomenon. - Mía (Spain)

This German journalist has come up with a superb psychological thriller with a storyline that will have you hooked. Not suitable for sensitive constitutions. - AR (Spain)

The Trap is a page-turner... It's clever, devious, and driven, and twists the reader inside out until it reaches a terrific ending. What a great start to a writing career for Melanie Raabe. - Ian Hamilton, author of the Ava Lee novels

You won’t be able to resist. - Elle UK

The Trap had me hooked from the start. Linda’s story unravels so cleverly, and Raabe keeps you questioning what’s fact and what’s not right to the end, ratcheting up the tension at the same time . . . A genuinely gripping debut: I had to keep reading until I was finished! - Debbie Howells, author of The Bones of You

A fast twisty read for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn - Stacy Alesi, Booklist

Suspenseful . . . taut storytelling. - Publisher's Weekly

Intricately constructed . . . nicely done twists and turns - Kirkus

This one has everything: intriguing characters, a great sense of place that grounds the action, and a devious and enthralling plot...a perfect by-the-lake book. - Margaret Cannon, Globe and Mail

...a clever, creepy and lively tale... - Jack Batten, Toronto Star

of 97

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.