Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Sourcebooks Complete Catalogue Oct 2016

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Raincoast Book Distribution Limited Supplies to:CA Availability: Available Excluding:Jul 29, 2020 On Sale Date:Feb 23, 2015 Carton Quantity:20 $22.99 CAD
  • Catalogues

The Bridal Chair
A Novel
By (author): Gloria Goldreich
9781492603269 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Historical / World War II Feb 23, 2015
$22.99 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.25 x 1.28 in | 530 gr 496 pages Sourcebooks Sourcebooks Landmark

"In prose as painterly and evocative as Chagall's own dazzling brushstrokes, Gloria Goldreich finely evokes one of the most significant masters of modern art through the discerning eyes of [his] loyally protective daughter."—Cynthia Ozick, award-winning author of Foreign Bodies

An exquisite, haunting exploration of the complex mind of Marc Chagall, and the artist's famous chair, through the eyes of his daughter during World War II—perfect for fans of Mrs. Poe and The Paris Wife

Beautiful Ida Chagall, the only daughter of Marc Chagall, is blossoming in the Paris art world beyond her father's controlling gaze. But, her newfound independence is cut short by the chaos of World War II. In Nazi-occupied Paris, her father's status as a Jewish artist has made them all targets, but his devotion to his art blinds him to their danger.

When Ida falls in love and Chagall angrily paints an empty wedding chair in response, she faces an impossible choice: Does she fight to escape her father's shadow entirely, or abandon her ambitions to save Chagall from the peril in Paris, his enemies, and himself?

Brimming with historic personalities from WWII Europe, America and Israel, The Bridal Chair is a stunning portrait of love, fortitude, and the sharp divide between art and real life.

"Only Gloria Goldreich could write a novel so grounded in historical truths yet so exuberantly imaginative. The Bridal Chair is Goldreich at her best, with a mesmerizing plot, elegant images, and a remarkable heroine who...will remain with you long after the last page."—Francine Klagsburn, Jewish Week columnist and acclaimed author of Voicesof Wisdom

"Filled with fascinating details about the art world and colorful real-life characters, this novel may appeal to historical fiction fans who enjoyed Natasha Solomons's The House at Tyneford and Tatiana de Rosnay's Sarah's Key."—Library Journal

GLORIA GOLDREICH is the bestselling and critically acclaimed author of several novels. Her stories have appeared in numerousmagazines, such as McCalls, Redbook, Ms. Magazine, and Ladies' Home Journal. She lives in Tuckahoe, New York.

"Only Gloria Goldreich could write a novel so grounded in historical truths yet so exuberantly imaginative. THE BRIDAL CHAIR is Goldreich at her best, with a mesmerizing plot, elegant images, and a remarkable heroine who shines through the whole. Ida Chagall will remain with you long after you've read the last page of her story. And her father's art will never seem the same." - Francine Klagsbrun, acclaimed author and columnist for Jewish Week

"In prose as painterly and evocative as Chagall's own dazzling brush strokes, Gloria Goldreich finely evokes the days and nights of one of the most significant masters of modern art. Through the discerning eyes of Ida, Chagall's loyally protective daughter, we see his peril as a Jew in Nazi-overrun Europe, his heated competitiveness, his contentiousness as husband and father, his consuming immersion in his work. Here is history as story-telling, and story-telling as intimate portraiture, as poignant and arresting as Chagall's own airborne and dreamlike figures; and here also is a question to tantalize readers: Must the artist's character match the enchantments of his art?" - Cynthia Ozick, award-winning author of Foreign Bodies

"An ambitious work by a talented author... It is a story of quiet power and provides a fascinating look into the dynamics of a family. This is Goldreich at her best!" - RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars

"Goldreich's portrait of a major artist and his daughter is fascinating." - Booklist

"Filled with fascinating details about the art world and colorful real-life characters, this novel may appeal to historical fiction fans who enjoyed Natasha Solomons's The House at Tyneford and Tatiana de Rosnay's Sarah's Key." - Library Journal

of 2918

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.