Advanced Search

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Celebrating Anansi's 50th Anniversary: A List Series

The Big Why
A List Edition
By (author): Michael Winter Introduction by: Patrick deWitt
Michael Winter ,

Introduction by :

Patrick deWitt


A List - Toronto



Product Form:


Form detail:

Paperback , Trade


General Trade
Feb 11, 2017
$14.95 CAD


8.5in x 5.5 x 0.85 in | 1.06 lb

Page Count:

384 pages
House of Anansi Press Inc
A List
FICTION / Literary
  • Short Description
A year in the life of famed artist Rockwell Kent, who in 1914 left the bustling streets of New York City for the quaint town of Brigus, Newfoundland.

Funny, surprising, and thoroughly honest, Michael Winter’s fictional memoir about the famed American artist Rockwell Kent bares all, now with a new introduction by award-winning author of The Sisters Brothers, Patrick deWitt.

In 1914, the American artist Rockwell Kent escapes his bustling life in New York City for the quaint, rural town of Brigus, Newfoundland. He has been drawn north by the picturesque landscape of the Atlantic, seeking a simpler, quieter life. Always fascinated and inspired by cold climates, Kent imagines his new home to be a utopia and the perfect place to work on his art and marriage.

Notorious for his flighty relationships with various women and his radical, socialist thinking, the artist’s beliefs and way of life run drastically against those of the community. And on the cusp of the First World War, tensions and suspicions run high; a newcomer could be anyone, including a German spy.

In this fictionalized memoir, Winter explores the life of an artist who was not fully understood or accepted in his time and place. Funny, surprising, and thoroughly honest about our desires and contradictions, The Big Why bares all.

Michael Winter is the author of many works of fiction, including The Big Why (winner of the Drummer General’s Award and a finalist for the Trillium Book Award) and This All Happened (winner of the Winterset Award and nominated for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize). He lives in Toronto.

PATRICK DEWITT was born on Vancouver Island in 1975. He is the author of three critically acclaimed novels: Undermajordomo Minor, Ablutions and The Sisters Brothers, which won the Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction, the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, and the Stephen Leacock Medal, and was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize and the Scotiabank Giller Prize. He lives in Portland, Oregon.

of 30

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.