has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2019 Trade

more
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: 1040L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 10, 2019 On Sale Date: Oct 01, 2019 Carton Quantity: 52 $19.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 10, 2019 On Sale Date: Oct 01, 2019 Carton Quantity: 52 $15.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Honey
A Novel
By (author): Brenda Brooks

Imprint:

ECW Press - Toronto

ISBN:

9781770414976

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
Oct 01, 2019
$19.95 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.5in x 5.5 x 0.54 in | 0.64 lb

Page Count:

232 pages
ECW Press
FICTION / Literary
Fiction: general and literary|Crime and mystery: hard-boiled crime, noir fiction|Thriller / suspense fiction|Relating to lesbians
 
Staunch Book Prize 2019, Short-listed
  • Short Description
For readers of Sharp Objects comes a thrilling modern noir with a fresh narrative voice that explores coming of age, desire, and the lengths we’ll go to for love.

“Sinuous and captivating.”— Foreword Reviews

Shortlisted for the 2019 Staunch Book Prize

For readers of Sharp Objects comes a thrilling modern noir with a fresh narrative voice that explores coming of age, desire, and the lengths we’ll go to for love

When 24-year-old Nicole Hewett’s beloved childhood friend, Honey, returns to their small northern town after an unexplained six-year absence, Nicole realizes how her life had stalled without her. But the prodigal returns with troubling secrets, and before long Nicole is drawn into a high-stakes game. Honey is a thrilling, sensuous modern noir novel with a classic refrain: nothing is more dangerous than love.

Short Description


For readers of Sharp Objects comes a thrilling modern noir with a fresh narrative voice that explores coming of age, desire, and the lengths we’ll go to for love.


Sales and Market Bullets



  • Brooks’s debut, Gotta Find Me an Angel, was a finalist for the Amazon.ca First Novel Award and was called a “successful combination of light humor and introspection” by Kirkus Reviews.

  • For readers of Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects or Gone Girl and other literary page turners.

  • A thrilling modern noir with a fresh narrative voice.


Publishing Diverse Voices



  • Author: LGBTQ+ Voices

  • Content: LGBTQ+ (lesbian love story)


Audience



  • Readers of Gillian Flynn novels, such as Gone Girl and Sharp Objects; other literary page turners, such as Iain Reid’s I’m Thinking of Ending Things; and literary novels with an edge, such as Emily Fridlund’s History of Wolves.

  • Women who define themselves as lesbian and/or queer.

  • Readers seeking LGBTQ+ content.

Brenda Brooks has published two poetry collections and a novel, Gotta Find Me an Angel, a finalist for the Amazon.ca First Novel Award. She lives on Salt Spring Island in British Columbia.

“Brooks has delivered a meaty, insightful, and at times funny story of star crossed lovers (think Rebel Without a Cause). Her writing is exceptional and hard-driving, and the story itself difficult to put down.” — Booklist

“Sinuous and captivating, Honey is a novel about friendship, obsession, and the troubling, even perilous ambiguities behind motivations and desires.” — Foreword Reviews

“An exploration of obsession and the ignition of latent desires . . . The characters may be rough around the edges, but their descriptions contain a sense of grace . . . [A] sumptuous slow burn of a novel.” — Shelf Awareness for Readers

Honey shows that the classic noir fatalism you see in writers like David Goodis makes a lot of sense in a contemporary setting as well. With well-drawn characters and Brooks’s ability to tease out an obsessiveness that leads to some truly bad decision-making, this is an impactful, spare read.” — Nathan Ripley, author of Find You in the Dark and Your Life Is Mine

“A darkly prismatic relationship between two complex and fascinating antiheroines. Honey showcases Brooks’s intellect and wit and proves her incontestable talent for sultry, neo-noir storytelling.” — Pearl Luke, author of Burning Ground and Madame Zee

of 22

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.