has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Ampersand Key Titles Shipping November 2019 WEST

more
Murder in Rat Alley
By (author): Mark de Castrique
Mark de Castrique

Imprint:

Poisoned Pen Press

ISBN:

9781492699392

Product Form:

Paperback

Form detail:

Trade
Paperback , Trade
English

Audience:

General Trade
Dec 31, 2019
$22.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.51in x 5.65 x 0.71 in | 280 gr

Page Count:

272 pages
Sourcebooks
Poisoned Pen Press
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Private Investigators

In this unusual spin on the classic spy novel, murder strikes from our wartime pasts...

Iraq War veteran Sam Blackman with his prosthetic leg and his no-nonsense private eye partner Nakayla Robertson love their investigations which always carry a thread from the past—and they love each other. An interracial couple in the new South, the Asheville, NC, pair has surrounded themselves with a terrific support team including anunorthodox lawyer and a veteran cop. They deploy humor both to bind them together and to deflect insults. Plus, it helps deal with the tragedies their work uncovers.

Such a tragedy interrupts a meeting between the PIs and the neighboring law office when a body is unearthed from the grounds of the nearby Pisgah Astronomical Research Institute. During the Cold War it monitored developing space programs. Today it plays a vital role gathering weather and climate data. The body has beenin the ground a long time. Why would its discovery spark off a new murder in Asheville's mountain music scene, the victim found amid the garbage of dark, dank Rat Alley?

She was the fiancée of the man murdered long ago. But surely this case is more than a domestic drama playing out over time....

The Blackman Agency Investigations excel at merging past and present, bringing little-known history to light, and are perfect for fans of James Lee Burke, Stephen Mack Jones, Margaret Maron, and Robert B. Parker.

Mark de Castrique grew up in the mountains of western North Carolina where many of his novels are set. He's a veteran of the television and film production industry, has served as an adjunct professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte teaching The American Mystery, and he's a frequent speaker and workshop leader. He and his wife, Linda, live in Charlotte, North Carolina. www.markdecastrique.com

of 16

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.