has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Ampersand Eat Well, Live Well

more
The Art of Plant-Based Cheesemaking, Second Edition
How to Craft Real, Cultured, Non-Dairy Cheese
Revised and Expanded
By (author): Karen McAthy

Imprint:

New Society Publishers - Gabriola Island

ISBN:

9780865719620

Product Form:

Hardcover

Form detail:

Sewn, Paper over boards
Hardcover , Sewn, Paper over boards
English

Audience:

General/trade
May 25, 2021
Print Run: 7000
$49.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8in x 10 x 0.88 in | 1.4 lb

Page Count:

256 pages

Illustrations:

150 color photos
100% recycled content
FSC certified – recycled C016245
New Society Publishers
COOKING / Vegetarian
Vegan Cookery and veganism|Popular medicine and health|Self-sufficiency and ‘green’ lifestyle|Vegetarian Cookery and vegetarianism
 
Gourmand World Cookbook Awards 2017, Winner Gourmand World Cookbook Awards 2018, Winner International Association of Culinary Professionals Awards 2017, Winner
  • Short Description

Expanded & updated with over 150 color photos, The Art of Plant-based Cheesemaking, 2nd Edition is the acknowledged bible of vegan cheesemaking bible. Includes 8 new cheesemaking recipes, working with white & blue molds, nut, kefir, legumes, and other culture preparation, rind smoking, and a new section on cooking with vegan cheese.

Expanded and updated second edition of the Gourmand World Cookbook Awards, 2018, Vegan Category Winner.



Segunda edición actualizada y aumentada del libro ganador del Premio Gourmand World Cookbook, 2018, en la Categoría Vegana.

Aprenda a elaborar un auténtico y delicioso queso libre de lácteos con la reconocida fabricante de quesos vegetales Karen McAthy. La segunda edición de la "biblia de la elaboración de queso vegetal", completamente actualizada y aumentada, lleva la fabricación de queso vegano a un nuevo nivel.

Con más de 150 fotos a color e instrucciones mejoradas paso a paso, la nueva información incluye:

  • Ocho nuevas recetas de queso que se suman a docenas más, desde nivel principiante a profesional
  • Nueva cobertura sobre quesos cultivados de "técnica mixta" y firmeza rápida
  • Más allá de las nueces y las semillas, cómo elaborar quesos con legumbres
  • Mantequilla cultivada, crema ácida y yogur de leche de coco, avena y nueces de la india, todos ellos sin lácteos
  • Elaboración de cultivos vegetales, incluyendo rejuvelac, germinados, fermentación, kéfir y cápsulas probióticas
  • Fermentación de ácido láctico y cómo usarla para elaborar quesos
  • Más información sobre sabores, añejado, curación y ahumado de corteza, y sobre el trabajo con hongos/bacteria blancos y azules
  • Nueva sección de recetas para cocinar con quesos vegetales, incluyendo Coeur a la Creme, tempeh frito en suero de leche y más.

El arte de la elaboración de queso vegetal, Segunda Edición, es un libro imprescindible para quienes desean fabricar quesos vegetales y veganos, y para todos los apasionados de la cocina. Por su textura, definición y sabor, usted estará orgulloso de servir sus creaciones.

  • She is at the cutting edge of vegan cheese development and experimentation.
  • Award-winning first edition – Gourmand World Cookbook Awards, 2018, Winner, Best in World, Vegan Category
  • International Association of Culinary Professionals Awards, Winner, 2017
  • Gourmand World Cookbook Awards, 2017, Winner, Canadian selection, Vegan Cookbooks
  • Previous edition sold 4,600
  • Author is the well-known chef and founder and co-owner of Blue Heron Creamery, a dairy-free, plant-based artisan cheese and foods company.
  • Research from the Good Food Institute Association shows that retails sales in plant-based dairy alternatives grew 29% over the past two years.
  • The author has significant connections with US through customers and consulting for vegan cheese companies.
  • The author has 14 K followers on Instagram from around the world.
  • She will be featured on the Food Network show, Cheese: A love story which will be filmed at Blue Heron Creamery in December 2020
  • "Cheesegate" in 2018 (the complaint filed with CFIA regarding the use of the word “cheese”) pushed Blue Heron Creamery into the national headlines for most of February and March. Author was interviewed on Global TV, CBC TV, CBC Radio, and several blogs and magazines.
  • The author is currently expanding her business to a 7000 foot facility including a research and development lab
  • This second edition includes the update to refinements in this emerging art.
  • Second edition is 35% new material including:
    • updated methodology for several recipes
    • revised conceptual elements
    • new methods including vegan blue cheese, camembert/white mold cheese
    • clarification of discussion of cultures
    • improved culturing methodology
    • chapters 1-6 completely revised

Audience: Process-oriented cooks, both home and professional; chefs looking to broaden their vegan cheesemaking skills, DIY foodies who like to make their own food stuffs, cookbook collectors. For readers of The Food Lab Book by J. Kenji Lopez-Alt, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat by Samin Nosrat, This Cheese Is Nuts by Julie Piatt, Vegan Cheese by Jules Aron and One-hour Dairy-free Cheese by Claudia Lucero


Karen McAthy is founder and co-owner of Blue Heron Creamery, a dairy-free, plant-based artisan cheese and vegan foods company in Vancouver, BC, which creates authentic and cultured non-dairy cheeses. McAthy is a sought-after educator in the world of plant-based food and award-winning author. www.blueheroncheese.com

"I knew the moment I walked into Karen McAthy's cheese shop a few years ago that this lady knew what she was doing. Karen has spent the last few years honing her craft and understanding the new science of making cheese from plants, and demonstrates it for us here in her beautiful new book, which elevates vegan cheese to a whole new level. Brava, Karen—I only wish I lived closer to your shop!"
Miyoko Schinner, founder and CEO, Miyoko's Creamery, author, Artisan Vegan cheese

"For years, Karen has been a source of inspiration and guidance to many who are delving into the world of great vegan cheese. Her expertise, matched with her generosity in sharing her knowledge and skill, makes this volume a must-have in the collection of any culinary aficionado!"
Margaret Coons, founder/CEO, Nuts for Cheese

"If you don't use dairy products, or are vegan, here is a true culinary prize for you! The Art of Plant-based Cheesemaking delivers the real goods like no other. You'll enjoy cheese and other cultured, dairy-free products with the richness of texture, the depth of flavor, and the myriad health benefits of a plant-based diet. "
Vesanto Melina, MS, Registered Dietitian, author, Becoming Vegan and Kick Diabetes Cookbook, lead author, Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics' Position Paper on Vegetarian Diets

"Karen is a food magician! I've been a fan of her plant-based cheeses for years, and none other compare. She reveals the careful food science behind her art on these pages, so we can all try creating delectable vegan cheeses in our own homes. Let's eat!"
Em Von Euw, cookbook author, creator, This Rawsome Vegan Life

"Karen McAthy has been at the forefront of artisanal plant-based cheese since the beginning. Her influence is felt everywhere as she strides to bring traditional cheesemaking techniques to vegan cheese. The Art of Plant-based Cheesemaking is the best resource for home chefs seeking to delve into the world of real cheesemaking with plant-based ingredients. If vegan cheese analogs have left you wanting, Chef Karen's cheeses will leave you wanting for more."
Aaron Adams, owner and chef, Farm Spirit and Fermenter

"I'm not sure if I've ever met someone who has so much passion, drive, and knowledge for one specific field. Karen has all of these attributes coming out of her cheesy pores. Coming from me, I don't think I can give a bigger compliment actually. She blew my mind with her amazing plant-based dairy products. I've tasted thousands of cheeses, but trying her products opened up a new world to me. This book is incredibly informative. It's technical and fun at the same time. It's a must-read for anyone who loves plant-based dairy products or anyone who likes cheese. Karen is an icon and artist in her field and this book may just be her Sistine Chapel. BUY THIS BOOK."
Afrim Pristine, owner, Cheese Boutique

of 86

Also Available

The Art of Plant-Based Cheesemaking Karen McAthy 9780865718364 $24.99 CAD Apr 07, 2017

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.